Spirit of the Griffin Awards
Spirit of the Griffin Awards

Students and faculty gathered Wednesday for the annual Spirit of the Griffin assembly, celebrating and recognizing all who learn and live in community as Griffins. The assembly is meant to honor the essence of the SDS community, to celebrate tradition and to recognize excellence and character.

Awards and Recognitions

Delta Dedication
- Joan Tobey, Upper School Math Teacher

2023-24 Student Government Leaders
Student Body President: Tressa Green
Student Body Vice President: Jake Gramling

Spirit of the Griffin Awards are presented to two students per division who embody exemplary citizenship by demonstrating integrity and outstanding personal contributions.

Lower School: Quinn Gladson & Mason Phillips
Middle School: Campbell Dobson & Charlotte Peeler
Upper School: Roman Monitto & Reid Thomas
A special Spirit of the Griffin Award was presented to: Head of School Rachel Deems, for 11 years of leadership, dedication and service to Spartanburg Day School.

The Ben Stone Awards honor Ben Maxwell Stone '77 who was a leader, both at SDS and in the Spartanburg community. Award recipients exemplify placing others before themselves, courage in the face of adversity, dedication to serving the community and loyalty to SDS.
- Camilla Costa, sophomore

The Michael R. Johnson Endowed Scholarship Fund was established by SDS alumni in 2002 to honor the guidance and wisdom Mr. Johnson shared with students as a headmaster, teacher, musician and coach during his years at SDS. The award is presented annually to a student or students who have exhibited strong academic ability and contribute to the extracurricular life of SDS or the Spartanburg community at large. 
- Jacob Cochran, freshman

The Milliken Science Award recognizes an Upper School student who excels in science.
- Mya Ferguson, sophomore

The Griffin Wings Award honors a member of the SDS community who on a daily basis, by word, deed and attitude, consistently exemplifies the soaring spirit associated with a Griffin.
- Phil Paoletta, athletic trainer





Spirit of the Griffin Awards