Spirit of the Griffin Awards
Spirit of the Griffin Awards

Students and faculty gathered Friday for the annual Spirit of the Griffin assembly, celebrating and recognizing all who learn and live in community as Griffins. The assembly is meant to honor the essence of the SDS community, to celebrate tradition and to recognize excellence and character.

Awards and Recognitions

Delta Dedication
- Dr. Susan Owens, Upper School Math Teacher

2024-25 Student Government Leaders
Student Body President: Valentina Landa
Student Body Vice President: Blair Loring

Spirit of the Griffin Awards are presented to two students per division who embody exemplary citizenship by demonstrating integrity and outstanding personal contributions.

Lower School: Ferran Catlla & Boyd Barnes
Middle School: Jackson Harris & Teagan Gosnell
Upper School: Copeland Foster & Mary Hannah Willoughby

The Ben Stone Awards honor Ben Maxwell Stone '77 who was a leader, both at SDS and in the Spartanburg community. Award recipients exemplify placing others before themselves, courage in the face of adversity, dedication to serving the community and loyalty to SDS.
- Eve Decker, sophomore

The Griffin Wings Award honors a member of the SDS community who on a daily basis, by word, deed and attitude, consistently exemplifies the soaring spirit associated with a Griffin.
- Beth Ryan, Director of Extended Day





Spirit of the Griffin Awards