Spirit of the Griffin Awards 2018

Each year, the entirety of the student body, faculty and staff come together in celebration of individuals who have gone above and beyond in their contributions to the school. The annual Spirit of the Griffin Assembly is a special one at which some of our most deserving Griffins are recognized.

Spirit of the Griffin Awards
Lower School: Elizabeth Ann Johnson, Thomas Hyde
Middle School: Emily Grace Cobourn, Russell Judge
Upper School: Sara McCown, Kyle Tracy
Recognizes two students in each division who are known to exhibit the best qualities in personal character, service to the school, effort in academic work and care for possessions. These students show integrity and make a positive contribution to their school.

Ben Stone Award: Jake Beets
Under extraordinary circumstances, Ben Stone '77 took on the challenge of making the Spartanburg Day School a better place to be. While at SDS, Ben was a leader and community builder. After graduation, Ben continued to serve the Day School as Annual Fund volunteer and Board of Trustees member. The fact that he maintained a positive and giving outlook in the face of seven kidney transplants made him an example for us all. Students who receive the Ben Stone Award are known to place others before themselves, have courage in the face of adversity, are dedicated to community service and show loyalty to Spartanburg Day School.

Michael R. Johnson Endowed Scholarship: Ann Dobson Ball, Robey Leonardi
The Michael R. Johnson Endowed Scholarship Fund was established by SDS alumni and announced following the former headmaster's graduation address to the class of 2002. The scholarship honors the guidance and wisdom that Mr. Johnson shared with students as a headmaster, teacher, musician, and coach during his 33-year career at SDS. The award is presented annually to a student or students who have exhibited strong academic ability and who contribute to the extra-curricular life of the Spartanburg Day School or the Spartanburg community at large.

Griffin Wings: Bill Beedon
The Griffin Wings Award is an award to honor a member of the Spartanburg Day School community who on a daily basis by word, deed, and attitude, consistently exemplifies the soaring spirit associated with a Griffin. The Award is entitled the Griffin Wings to signify the individual's contribution in being an uplifting presence, a source of joy, and an example to all of how to treat others.

Delta Yearbook Dedication: Paige Phillips

2018-19 Student Government Leadership
President: Rett Foust
Vice President: Cooper Hannah

Spirit of the Griffin Awards 2018