News from the Upper School

Week of Feb. 26
Week of Feb. 26
Week of Feb. 26

And they're off! Our first group of students departed this afternoon and are London-bound. It is tough to believe we are wrapping up quarter three and heading into Special Studies week! Spring sits just around the corner, and quarter four will bring a flurry of activity. For now, Upper School students are excited about diving into learning outside the traditional classroom setting. Teachers have organized immersive learning opportunities that offer a wide variety of unique, cross-disciplinary experiences. This time-honored tradition fuels curiosity and promotes self-discovery; it's also an excellent opportunity for students to strengthen friendships and build new relationships through group connections. Look for social media posts throughout the week for updates on student experiences! 

Below, Mrs. Webster's Anatomy class visited the Simulation Center at VCOM where medical students learn life-saving procedures.  Our students practiced intubating patients in a simulated emergency room.

Before I paste key dates below, I want to acknowledge the difficult week and thank you all for being steadfast, caring members of this community we cherish. Since stepping on this campus nearly fifteen years ago, I have felt the difference of being a Griffin. I have been reminded over and over of the power of belonging to a community that uplifts, protects, and cares for one another like no other place I've known. It's the true strength of the Day School. 

Enjoy the weekend.

Paige

Key dates can be found below. Note: Dr. Duncan will not hold SAT prep this Sunday. Sessions will resume on Sunday, March 3.

Monday, February 26, 2024 Special Studies Week    
Sunday, March 3, 2024 SAT Prep with Dr Duncan Seminar Room 1:00 - 3:00 pm
       
Thursday, March 14, 2024 Early Dismissal 12:05  
Friday, March 15, 2024 Upper School in session (LS/MS Conf Day)    
Thursday, March 21, 2024 Upper School Play 6:00 PM Dent Gallery
Friday, March 22, 2024 Upper School Play 6:00 PM Dent Gallery
Friday, March 29, 2024 Good Friday    
Monday, April 1, 2024 Start of Spring Break    
Monday, April 8, 2024 First day back after Spring Break    
Thursday, April 11, 2024 Spring Band Concert Stone Gym 6:30 PM
Friday, April 12, 2024 Spirit of the Griffin Assembly Stone Gym 1:00 - 2:15 pm
Wednesday, April 17, 2024 Seniors & Faculty Luncheon   11:30 - 12:25
Friday, April 19, 2024 Clemson Calculus Challenge Clemson all-day
Saturday, April 20, 2024 Practice AP Stats test at Clemson Clemson

8:00 am - 2:30 pm

Friday, April 26, 2024 Envirothon Team Competition Columbia all-day
Friday, May 3, 2024 Junior Senior Breakfast Dining Commons 7:30-8:30
Friday, May 3, 2024 Senior Parade    
Monday, May 6, 2024 AP Exams start    
Monday, May 6, 2024 AP Government exam   8:00
Monday, May 6, 2024 AP Chemistry and AP Art History   12:00
Tuesday, May 7, 2024 AP Human Geography and AP Micro   8:00
Tuesday, May 7, 2024 AP Seminar and AP Statistics   12:00
Wednesday, May 8, 2024 AP English Literature   8:00
Thursday, May 9, 2024 AP Environmental Science   8:00
Friday, May 10, 2024 AP European History and AP US History   8:00 
Monday, May 13, 2024 AP Calculus AB and BC   8:00
Monday, May 13, 2024 AP Pre-Calculus   12:00
Tuesday, May 14, 2024 AP English Language   8:00 
Wednesday, May 15, 2024 AP French and AP World History   8:00 
Wednesday, May 15, 2024 AP Computer Science   12:00 
Thursday, May 16, 2024 AP Spanish   8:00 
Thursday, May 16, 2024 AP Biology   12:00 
Friday, May 17, 2024 AP Physics   8:00 
Friday, May 17, 2024 AP Latin   12:00 
       
       
       
       
Monday, May 13, 2024 SDS Exams start    
SDS Exams run through Thursday, May 16, 2024      
Thursday, May 16, 2024 US Field Night   5:30 - 8:00 pm
Friday, May 17, 2024 Make-up Exams/last day of school    
Tuesday, May 21, 2024 Band Awards Night Dent Gallery 5:30-7 pm
Wednesday, May 22, 2024 Prom - 10th - 12th grades only   7:00 pm
Thursday, May 23, 2024 Upper School Awards Night Mandatory - Juniors and Seniors in Stone Gym 5:30 - 7:30 pm
Friday, May 24, 2024 Graduation Senior Courtyard 9:00 am
Wednesday, August 14, 2024 First day of '24-'25 school year early dismissal  

 

 

 

 

College Counseling Corner

Week of April 15

Looking Ahead:

Seniors will attend the 2nd Senior Series on Tuesday, April 16th from 11:30 AM-12:30 PM in the Parents' Community Seminar Room. Lunch from Chick-fil-A will be provided. Please make sure your student fills out the Google Form.

All rising 10th-12th grade students:
Reminder about Course Requests - You must receive signatures from your teachers AND a parent/guardian before turning into College Counseling by Thursday, April 18th.

Archive

Upcoming Events