News from the Upper School

Week of Feb. 5
Week of Feb. 5
Week of Feb. 5

Seeing the sunshine over the last couple of days has been good! The weekend weather promises to be equally enjoyable, and I hope you all can take advantage of the mild temperatures. 

Pictured above - US students participated in the inaugural Griffin Hunt to celebrate the 100th day of school. Students in all divisions were challenged to find 100 red Griffins hidden around campus. Students of all ages participated in the fun, and we hope this will be a new SDS tradition! Big thanks to Erin O'Neal and Jillian Sorrenti for spearheading the activity.

Upper School teachers continue to offer students fun, relevant learning opportunities. Highlighted below are French students making crêpes to celebrate La Chandeleur. Students learned about the tradition, prepared the batter, and made their own crêpes.  They also flipped a crêpe while holding a coin in their opposite hand.  According to the tradition, catching the crêpe ensures financial prosperity in the coming year.  Judging by SDS’s results, many students will be getting a raise in their allowance soon! I've enjoyed the food from the French classes lately!

On Wednesday, the Parent's Community will host their second (and last) All Parent Meeting for this school year at 8:30 AM in the Dent Gallery. Please join us if you can.

Please remind your students to do their best to make it to school and classes on time. We have seen an uptick in lateness recently.

Progress reports for students earning a 76 or below in any course have been entered into FACTS and are ready for review. Please reach out to classroom teachers with questions or concerns. 

Finally, I hope everyone had a chance to read the environmental sensor (vape detector) communication sent earlier this week. In short, sensors have been installed on campus. Please see the email sent on Tuesday for more information.

Check below for a list of notable dates, and refer to the school calendar for ongoing updates.

All the best for a fantastic weekend!


Paige

Sunday, February 4, 2024 SAT Prep with Dr Duncan Seminar Room 1:00 - 3:00 pm
Sunday, February 11, 2024 SAT Prep with Dr Duncan Seminar Room 1:00 - 3:00 pm
Thursday, February 15, 2024 Early Dismissal 12:05  
Friday, February 16, 2024 Student Holiday    
Monday, February 19, 2024 School Holiday for Presidents Day    
Monday, February 26, 2024 Special Studies Week    
Sunday, March 3, 2024 SAT Prep with Dr Duncan Seminar Room 1:00 - 3:00 pm
Thursday, March 14, 2024 Early Dismissal 12:05  
Friday, March 15, 2024 Upper School in session (LS/MS Conf Day)    
Thursday, March 21, 2024 Upper School Play 6:00 PM Dent Gallery
Friday, March 22, 2024 Upper School Play 6:00 PM Dent Gallery
       
Monday, April 1, 2024 Start of Spring Break    
Monday, April 8, 2024 First day back after Spring Break    
Thursday, April 11, 2024 Spring Band Concert Stone Gym 6:30 PM
Friday, April 12, 2024 Spirit of the Griffin Assembly Stone Gym 1:00 - 2:15 pm
Wednesday, April 17, 2024 Seniors & Faculty Luncheon   11:30 - 12:25
       
Saturday, April 20, 2024 Practice AP Stats test at Clemson Clemson

8:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Saturday, April 27, 2024 Envirothon Team Competition Columbia all day
       
Friday, May 3, 2024 Junior Senior Breakfast Dining Commons 7:30-8:30
Friday, May 3, 2024 Senior Parade   9:00 AM
       
Monday, May 6, 2024 AP Exams start    
Monday, May 6, 2024 AP Government exam   8:00 AM
Monday, May 6, 2024 AP Chemistry and AP Art History   12:00 PM
Tuesday, May 7, 2024 AP Human Geography and AP Micro   8:00 AM
Tuesday, May 7, 2024 AP Seminar and AP Statistics   12:00 PM
Wednesday, May 8, 2024 AP English Literature   8:00 AM
Thursday, May 9, 2024 AP Environmental Science   8:00 AM
Friday, May 10, 2024 AP European History and AP US History   8:00 AM
Monday, May 13, 2024 AP Calculus AB and BC   8:00 AM
Monday, May 13, 2024 AP Pre-Calculus   12:00 AM
Tuesday, May 14, 2024 AP English Language   8:00 AM
Wednesday, May 15, 2024 AP French and AP World History   8:00 AM
Wednesday, May 15, 2024 AP Computer Science   12:00 PM
Thursday, May 16, 2024 AP Spanish   8:00 AM
Thursday, May 16, 2024 AP Biology   12:00 PM
Friday, May 17, 2024 AP Physics   8:00 AM
Friday, May 17, 2024 AP Latin   12:00 PM
       
       
Monday, May 13, 2024 SDS Exams start    
Monday, May 13, 2024 C Block Exam   9:00 AM
Monday, May 13, 2024 A block Exam   1:00 PM
Tuesday, May 14, 2024 B Block Exam   9:00 AM
Tuesday, May 14, 2024 G Block Exam   1:00 PM
Wednesday, May 15, 2024 E Block Exam   9:00 AM
Wednesday, May 15, 2024 D Block Exam   1:00 PM
Thursday, May 16, 2024 F Block Exam   9:00 AM
Thursday, May 16, 2024 H Block Exam   1:00 PM
       
Friday, May 17, 2024 Make-up Exams/last day of school    
Tuesday, May 21, 2024 Band Awards Night Dent Gallery 5:30-7:00 PM
Wednesday, May 22, 2024 Prom - 10th - 12th grades only   7:00 PM start
Thursday, May 23, 2024 Upper School Awards Night Mandatory - Juniors and Seniors in Stone Gym 5:30 - 7:30 PM
Friday, May 24, 2024 Graduation Senior Courtyard 9:00 AM
Wednesday, August 14, 2024 First day of '24-'25 school year early dismissal  

 

 

 

 

College Counseling Corner

Week of April 15

Looking Ahead:

Seniors will attend the 2nd Senior Series on Tuesday, April 16th from 11:30 AM-12:30 PM in the Parents' Community Seminar Room. Lunch from Chick-fil-A will be provided. Please make sure your student fills out the Google Form.

All rising 10th-12th grade students:
Reminder about Course Requests - You must receive signatures from your teachers AND a parent/guardian before turning into College Counseling by Thursday, April 18th.

Archive

Upcoming Events