News from the Upper School

Week of March 25
Week of March 25
Week of March 25

Above, Upper School students presented an interactive spring production to our younger Griffins. The flyer below lists the full cast and crew. You can catch the last show tonight at 6:00 pm in Dent. 

 

Next week in advisory, we will review the AP and SDS exam schedule with students and have them complete an organizational chart to keep themselves on track with preparations and assessment dates and times. This year, exam dates overlap in week two of AP assessments, but we will work with students to ensure they have a clear plan (dates listed in the chart below).

It's tough to believe we will head into Spring Break in one short week! The arrival of March Madness is a sure sign that the end of the school year is in sight. Students went all in this week to complete their brackets in advisory, and we've been watching games during lunch. Wednesday brought gorgeous weather and the third annual Upper School Eggstreme Egg Hunt! Freshman Evan Bourla found the golden egg, and all had fun searching for the prize-filled treasures. Big thanks to Ms. Wesneski for organizing the event and to all who helped hide eggs and supervise the fun. 

I'll close by expressing my appreciation for the kind words and gestures after this week's announcement. I sincerely thank you, your children, my colleagues, and the SDS family at large. It's impossible to express how grateful I am to have spent the last thirteen years as a Griffin. SDS has been a huge part of my life, and I am a better educator and person because of my time at the Day School. Ashli, Sam, Wren, and I will forever cherish the memories we made with you. Once a Griffin, always a Griffin! 

Now, let's get to work and finish this year strong!

Warmest regards,

Paige

Friday, March 22, 2024 Upper School Play 6:00 PM Dent Gallery
Friday, March 29, 2024 Good Friday - school holiday    
Monday, April 1, 2024 Start of Spring Break    
Monday, April 8, 2024 First day back after Spring Break    
Wednesday, April 10, 2024 Herff Jones - final payments & pick up caps/gowns 11:30 seminar room
Wednesday, April 10, 2024 League of Women Voters on campus 11:30 Taylor Courtyard
Thursday, April 11, 2024 Spring Band Concert Stone Gym 6:30 PM
Friday, April 12, 2024 Spirit of the Griffin Assembly Stone Gym 1:00 - 2:15 PM
Wednesday, April 17, 2024 Seniors & Faculty Luncheon   11:30 - 12:25
Friday, April 19, 2024 Clemson Calculus Challenge Clemson all day
Saturday, April 20, 2024 Practice AP Stats test at Clemson Clemson

8:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Friday, April 26, 2024 Envirothon Team Competition Columbia all day
Friday, May 3, 2024 Junior Senior Breakfast Dining Commons 7:30-8:30 AM
Friday, May 3, 2024 Senior Parade    
Monday, May 6, 2024 AP Exams start    
Monday, May 6, 2024 AP Government exam   8:00 AM
Monday, May 6, 2024 AP Chemistry and AP Art History   12:00 PM
Tuesday, May 7, 2024 AP Human Geography and AP Micro   8:00 AM
Tuesday, May 7, 2024 AP Seminar and AP Statistics   12:00 PM
Wednesday, May 8, 2024 AP English Literature   8:00 AM
Thursday, May 9, 2024 AP Environmental Science   8:00 AM
Friday, May 10, 2024 AP European History and AP US History   8:00 AM
Monday, May 13, 2024 AP Calculus AB and BC   8:00 AM
Monday, May 13, 2024 AP Pre-Calculus   12:00 AM
Tuesday, May 14, 2024 AP English Language   8:00 AM
Wednesday, May 15, 2024 AP French and AP World History   8:00 AM
Wednesday, May 15, 2024 AP Computer Science   12:00 PM
Thursday, May 16, 2024 AP Spanish   8:00 AM
Thursday, May 16, 2024 AP Biology   12:00 PM
Friday, May 17, 2024 AP Physics   8:00 AM
Friday, May 17, 2024 AP Latin   12:00 PM
       
       
       
Monday, May 13, 2024 SDS Exams start    
Monday, May 13, 2024 A Block Exam   9:00 AM
Monday, May 13, 2024 E block Exam   1:00 PM
Tuesday, May 14, 2024 B Block Exam   9:00 AM
Tuesday, May 14, 2024 F Block Exam   1:00 PM
Wednesday, May 15, 2024 C Block Exam   9:00 AM
Wednesday, May 15, 2024 G Block Exam   1:00 PM
Thursday, May 16, 2024 D Block Exam   9:00 AM
Thursday, May 16, 2024 H Block Exam   1:00 PM
Thursday, May 16, 2024 US Field Night   5:30 - 8:00 PM
Friday, May 17, 2024 Make-up/Conflict Exams/last day of school    
Tuesday, May 21, 2024 Band Awards Night Dent Gallery 5:30 -7:00
Wednesday, May 22, 2024 Prom    7:00 PM
Thursday, May 23, 2024 Upper School Awards Night Mandatory - Juniors and Seniors in Stone Gym

5:30 - 7:30

PM

Friday, May 24, 2024 Graduation Senior Courtyard 9:00 AM
Wednesday, August 14, 2024 First day of '24-'25 school year early dismissal  

 

 

 

 

College Counseling Corner

Week of May 13

Attention Juniors - who are almost SENIORS!

Please remember that we have two opportunities for you to attend College Boot Camp. They will be the same, so you do not have to attend both. Please email us and let us know which one you plan to attend.

Session 1: May 29th - 31st from 9 AM until 12 PM in the Parents' Community Seminar Room

Session 2: August 12th - 13th from 9 AM until 12 PM in the Parents' Community Seminar Room

 

 

Archive

Upcoming Events

There are no events to display