Our Leaders

Welcome, from the Head of School

"I love my school."

It's one of my very favorite things to hear, and at Spartanburg Day School, I am privileged to hear it often. Why? Because each student is cared for and known. There's a genuine and infectious love of learning here – something you're sure to discover as you click through this website.

Our shared goal in this community is for each student to realize his or her potential. This purpose is brought to life daily by our exceptional faculty. These talented and experienced teachers create an atmosphere of trust and mutual respect that celebrates individuality, cultivates curiosity and builds skills.

Our approach balances a strong academic program with excellence in the arts, athletics, service and extracurriculars, forming well-rounded students. From the early learners to the senior class, our students are on an educational journey as it is meant to be: student-focused, full of passion and in the company of others who aspire to be the best version of themselves.


Rachel S. Deems
Head of School

Learn more about Mrs. Deems


Board of Trustees - 2022-23

(seated, l-r) Laura Stille, Anna Blanton, Jaime Wall, Alice Dawson, Elizabeth Rabb, Michel Stone
(standing, l-r) Susan Bridges, Sheila Cash, Rachel Deems, Ned Page, Alex Evins, Barney Gosnell, Vic Bailey III, Jared Wilson, Bear Boyd, Stacy McBride, Rick Dent, Charlotte Verreault, David Johnson, Sharda Jackson-Smith
(not pictured) Elaine Freeman, Billy Webster, Raj Patel, Lenora Sansbury, William Gray, Mimi Killoren